Welcome to the Shikoku Trail !


Notice from the Center

Local Information

Read More

About the Shikoku Trail



Walking through the history of Shikoku

For more than a thousand years, pilgrims have undertaken the Shikoku Pilgrimage, visiting temples associated with Kobo Daishi (Kukai). It is an epic journey of 1,200 kilometers (745 miles) that visits 88 temples scattered throughout Shikoku.
Based on this pilgrimage course, we have created model courses that anyone can enjoy regardless of nationality or religion. These are what we call the "Shikoku Trail."

Read More

Model Courses



Course as a highlight of the pilgrimage route

Walking the pilgrimage course and visiting each of the 88 temples in order is a long journey that takes more than 40 days.
The Shikoku Trail are ten courses that we have chosen as the highlights of the pilgrimage.
We chose pleasant walking paths and added attractive sights and activities to create courses that can be completed in three to five days.

Model Course List

Shikoku is the smallest of the four main islands that make up Japan.
There are four prefectures in Shikoku: Tokushima, Kagawa, Ehime and Kōchi, hence the name Shikoku,“shi” meaning four and “koku” meaning prefecture in Japanese.
Visitors can enjoy heartwarming interactions with the local people on the island, where much of its beautiful nature and traditional lifestyles remain.